Organizational Structure

From Artisans Asylum Wiki

Staff Roles

Executive Director (ed@artisansasylum.com)
Manages A2 internal operations and coordinates with staff. Interfaces with Board. Pays the bills.
Education & Community Program Director (education@artisansasylum.com)
Develops and organizes educational programming with schools and external organizations hosted at A2. Runs Fabville, an A2-affiliated makerspace at Somerville High School
Facilities Director (facilities@artisansasylum.com)
Maintains Holton & Antwerp buildings. Interface between A2 and Harvard Real Estate.
Programs & Events Coordinator
Develops education programs, classes, and events at A2. Develops classes with new instructors.
Member Services Director (Currently Vacant)
Directs the fulfillment of services rendered for members.
Member Services Assistant (Virtual, member-services@artisansasylum.com)
Administrative assistant, focused on membership billing and all things Nexudus.
IT-Lead (it-lead@artisansasylum.com)
Coordinates with the IT committee to maintain IT infrastructure and address IT concerns.

Shop Lead Roles

Shop Leads are part-time staff (2.5hrs/wk) who manage and maintain shops.

Holton

Casting Shop: castingshop@artisansasylum.com

Composite Shop: compositeshop@artisansasylum.com

Design Lab & Digital Photography Shop: photographyshop@artisansasylum.com

Digital Fabrication Shop: digifabshop@artisansasylum.com

Electronic & Robotics Shop: ershop@artisansasylum.com

Fiber Arts Shop: fiberartsshop@artisansasylum.com

Gallery: gallery@artisansasylum.com

Jewelry Shop: jewelryshop@artisansasylum.com

Screen Printing Shop: screenprintingshop@artisansasylum.com

Antwerp Shops

Bike Shop: bikeshop@artisansasylum.com

Finishing Shop: finishingshop@artisansasylum.com

Machine Shop: machineshop@artisansasylum.com

Metal Shop: metalshop@artisansasylum.com

Wood Shop: woodshop@artisansasylum.com

Volunteer Roles

Board of Directors
Formal governance of the A2 non profit organization.
Deskie
Manages front-desk administrative operations (phone and email). Provide an interface between visitors and Artisans Asylum. Supports staff with administrative tasks and members with questions and general needs.
Deskie-Lead ([mailt
deskie-lead@g.artisansasylum.com deskie-lead@g.artisansasylum.com]):
Coordinates and organizes front desk volunteers. Contact point for staff and members regarding front-desk matters.
Tool Testers
Tests members on their knowledge of the proper use of tools in shops. Tool Testers support their respective shop leads in maintaining tools and a proper shop environment.
Volunteer Coordinator
Organizes volunteer projects and coordinates volunteers.

A2 Committees and Working Groups

These member-organized and -lead committees and working groups investigate or address various issues at A2 and advise, propose, and/or implement solutions.

Development Committee
Organizes fundraising opportunities; develops proposals for grants
Commerce and Merchandise Committee
Establishment of giftshop and sales opportunities.
Communications Committee and Information Architecture Committee
Developing digital infrastructure and communication norms to facilitate better communication and information flow
Education Committee
Developing classes, curriculum, and programs.
Health and Safety Committee (health-safety@artisansasylum.com)
Addresses health and safety concerns. Ensuring a safe environment and use of spaces.
IT Committee (IT@artisansasylum.com)
Maintains IT infrastructure and addresses IT concerns.
Social Events Team (socialevents@artisansasylum.com)
Organizes member events and socials for community building.
Policy and Procedures Committee
Developing policies and procedures for membership.
Utilities Committee
Investigating utility costs.
Volunteerism Committee
Promotes and fosters a volunteerism culture.
Antwerp Building Working Group
Maintains Antwerp facilities
New Member Orientation Team (orientation@artisansasylum.com)
Team of Deskies who provide new member orientation.
Wiki Working Group (acharlwood@gmail.com)
Developing the infrastructure of this wiki!